"The unusual and compelling thing about SXSW Eco that differs from other environmentally themed conferences is that fashion designers and hydrologists and software hackers all have equal footing."
– Greenbiz

SXSW Eco brings together a unique mix of leaders spanning multiple disciplines to share their breakthrough ideas and insights with our audience. Each year, our speakers deliver inspirational and informative talks designed to spark collaboration and action. We are proud to present the individuals who will address our attendees at SXSW Eco 2016.

Stay tuned to sxsweco.com or subscribe to our Newsletter for more speaker announcements.

SXSW Eco 2016 Keynotes

SXSW Eco Keynote - Kate Brandt

Kate Brandt
Lead for Sustainability, Google

Kate Brandt leads sustainability across Google’s worldwide operations and products. In this role, Kate coordinates with Google’s data centers, real estate, supply chain, and product teams to e​nsures the company is capitalizing on opportunities to strategically advance sustainability and circular economy.

Previously Kate served under President Obama as the Nation's first Chief Sustainability Officer. She was responsible for promoting sustainability across Federal Government operations including 360,000 buildings, 650,000 vehicles, and $445 billion annually in purchased goods and services. Prior to the White House, Kate served as Senior Advisor at the U.S. DOE and Energy Advisor to the Secretary of the Navy.

SXSW Eco 2016 Keynote

Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
President, Waterkeeper Alliance

Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. is President of Waterkeeper Alliance, the fastest-growing global movement for swimmable, drinkable, fishable water, with over 275 Waterkeeper organizations spanning the globe. His reputation as a resolute defender of the environment stems from a litany of successful legal actions. A high-profile speaker and activist, he has used numerous media outlets, including his 2004 book, Crimes Against Nature, to call into question the environmental policies of the United States. As the 2016 SXSW Eco Opening Day Keynote speaker, Mr. Kennedy will deliver a passionate defense of the environment and of how its continued neglect affects the future of the planet and the health of future generations.

SXSW Eco Keynote - Bill Nye

Bill Nye
Scientist, Engineer, Comedian, Author, Inventor

Bill Nye is a man with a mission: to help foster a scientifically literate society, to help people everywhere understand and appreciate the science that makes our world work. Making science entertaining and accessible is something Nye has been doing most of his life. He fights to raise awareness of climate change and the value of critical thinking, science and reason. Through all his work, Nye hopes to inspire people everywhere to change the world. Nye will offer a unique insight into the science behind our changing climate and how we can alter its course.

SXSW Eco 2016 Speakers

SXSW Eco Speaker - Annette Kim
Founding Director | SLAB
SXSW 2016 Speaker - Raj Patel
Author + Research Professor | LBJ School of Public Affairs
SXSW Eco 2016 Speaker - Robert Young Pelton
Author, Filmmaker, Journalist
SXSW Eco Speaker Susan Surface
Program Director | Design In Public