Place by Design 2014 Jurors

Place by Design, the SXSW Eco Public Space Design Competition, honors visionary design work that achieves a positive community impact through the creation or re-imagining of public spaces.

For 2014, we are proud to present the below individuals as the Jurors for Place by Design. Their broad range of experience from academia to design and architecture to advocacy, all bring heartfelt passion to re-imagining public spaces and sustaining our beautiful communities. The chosen finalists will showcase their projects at SXSW Eco and our jurors will name the winners, to be announced at the SXSW Eco Awards.

Learn more about our 2014 Jurors below.

Melissa Barry - SXSW Eco Place by Design Juror

Melissa Barry

Arts & Parks Director
Downtown Austin Alliance

Joe O’Connell

Joe O’Connell

Founder of Creative Machines

Otis Kriegel - SXSW Eco Place by Design Juror

Otis Kriegel

Founder of Illegal Art

Mark Palmer - SXSW Eco Place by Design Juror

Mark Palmer

Senior Associate

David Trubridge

David Trubridge


Barbara Brown Wilson - SXSW Eco Place by Design Juror

Barbara Brown Wilson

Assistant Professor of Urban and Environmental Planning

Kathy Zarsky - SXSW Eco Place by Design Juror

Kathy Zarsky

Holos Collaborative // BiomimicryTX